ISO 9001:2015 & 14001:2015 Revision Update

Organisations registered to ISO 9001:2008 and ISO 14001:2004 versions have until the 15th September 2018 to transition to the new ISO 9001:2015 and ISO 14001:2015 Standards!

ISO 9001:2015 Standard

The new ISO 9001:2015 Standard was released on 15 September 2015 and has replaced ISO 9001:2008. The main changes in the new version of ISO 9001:2015 are seen as:

  • The adoption of the HLS as set out in Annex SL
  • An explicit requirement for risk based thinking to support and improve the understanding and application of the process approach
  • Fewer prescribed requirements
  • Less emphasis on documents
  • Improved applicability for services
  • A requirement to define the boundaries of the QMS
  • Increased emphasis on organisational context
  • Increased leadership requirements
  • Greater emphasis on achieving desired outcomes to improve customer satisfaction.

The revisions to the ISO 9001 Standard can be broadly classified as those arising from the adoption of Annex SL as the basis of the Standard and those arising as a result of the changes to Standard-specific requirements.

Annex SL defines the framework for a generic management system. Its purpose is to ensure that in future all ISO management system Standards will have the same look and feel. This is achieved through the use of identical core text and language, as well as the adoption of common terms and definitions.

ISO 14001:2015 Standard

Along with ISO 9001:2015, the ISO 14001:2015 Standard has also been released, which has replaced ISO 14001:2004.

Following the release, the revisions to the ISO 14001 Standard focuses on processes rather than procedures, determining an organisations’ external and internal issues that are relevant to its purpose (considering factors previously seen as outside of the scope of its system) along with a revised structure:

0: Introduction

1: Scope

2: Normative references

3: Terms and definitions

4: Context of the organisation

5: Leadership

6: Planning

7: Support

8: Operation

9: Performance evaluation

10: Improvement

ISO 14001:2015 is also based on the Annex SL framework and therefore shares common terms and definitions with ISO 9001:2015.

To ensure our customers are able to plan and prepare for a smooth transition to ISO 9001:2015 and/or 14001:2015, CCAS have organised additional training courses:

ISO Practical Workshop – Providing a practical approach in understanding and implementing the changes.

ISO 9001:2015 & 14001:2015 Auditor Transition Courses – To transfer your skills and knowledge to successfully audit against the new Standards.

For further information or to register your interest, please visit our training page or email

This entry was posted in Industry News, ISO 9001:2015 & ISO 14001:2015 Standards and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.