ISO 9001:2015, 14001:2015 & 45001:2018 Transition Guidance

ISO 9001:2015, 14001:2015 & 45001:2018 Transition Guidance

The ISO 9001 Quality and ISO 14001 Environmental management system standards have been revised and a new international standard for occupational Health & Safety management systems ISO 45001, has recently been released. 

The new standards are based on the Annex SL framework and use identical core test, language and share common terms and definitions. This therefore, making it easier and more efficient for organisations which hold multiple accreditations. 

Following 15 September 2018 deadline, Standards ISO 9001:2008 and ISO 14001:2004 have become obsolete. For organisations which have not transitioned to the new ISO 9001:2015 and ISO 14001:2015 Standards but still wish to do so, please Contact Us


ISO 9001:2015 Standard

The new ISO 9001:2015 Standard was released on 15 September 2015 and has replaced ISO 9001:2008.                    The main changes in the new version of ISO 9001:2015 are seen as:

  • The adoption of the HLS as set out in Annex SL
  • An explicit requirement for risk based thinking to support and improve the understanding and application of the process approach
  • Fewer prescribed requirements
  • Less emphasis on documents
  • Improved applicability for services
  • A requirement to define the boundaries of the QMS
  • Increased emphasis on organisational context
  • Increased leadership requirements
  • Greater emphasis on achieving desired outcomes to improve customer satisfaction.

The revisions to the ISO 9001 Standard can be broadly classified as those arising from the adoption of Annex SL as the basis of the Standard and those arising as a result of the changes to Standard-specific requirements.

To view the CCAS Transition Guidance Document which provides guidance on the certification process to achieving the new ISO 9001 & ISO 14001 standards, click here


ISO 14001:2015 Standard

The ISO 14001:2015 Standard has also been released, which has replaced ISO 14001:2004.

Following the release, the revisions to the ISO 14001 Standard focuses on processes rather than procedures, determining an organisations' external and internal issues that are relevant to its purpose (considering factors previously seen as outside of the scope of its system) along with a revised structure:

0: Introduction

1: Scope

2: Normative references

3: Terms and definitions

4: Context of the organisation

5: Leadership

6: Planning

7: Support

8: Operation

9: Performance evaluation

10: Improvement

To view the CCAS Transition Guidance Document which provides guidance on the certification process to achieving the new ISO 9001 & ISO 14001 standards, click here


ISO 45001:2018 Standard

ISO 45001 is the new international standard for occupational health & safety and has replaced the British Standard OHSAS 18001:2007. 

Released on 12 March 2018, the new standard provides organisations all over the world with a consistent framework which is aimed at improving employee safety, reducing workplace risks along with creating better and safer working conditions. 

Organisations who are currently certified to OHSAS 18001, have until 12 March 2021 to migrate/transition to ISO 45001. 

To view the CCAS ISO 45001:2018 Migration Guidelines Document which provides guidance on the migration certification process, click here


To ensure our customers are able to plan and prepare for a smooth transition to ISO 9001:2015, 14001:2015 and 45001:2018, CCAS have organised additional training courses:

ISO Practical Workshop - Providing a practical approach in understanding and implementing the changes.

ISO 9001:2015 & 14001:2015 Auditor Transition Courses - To transfer your skills and knowledge to successfully conduct internal and external audits against the new Standards.

ISO 45001:2018 Transition Workshop - A half day briefing in the new standard, detailing the new requirements along with the enhanced business benefits of implementing an ISO 45001:2018 management system. 

For further information or to register your interest, please visit our training page or email This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..